At the conclusion of each college sports season a great award is given out to the particular nations leading college sports player since voted about by a small grouping of 941 mass media members and also past invariably winners. This award is named the Heisman Memorial service Award Trophy. While this kind of award will be highly publicized from the media and also football fans across the world, here are usually some intriguing facts that you could not realize.


The Heisman Merit originally began from the Downtown Fitness Club of New york in 1935. It absolutely was named right after John T Heisman, who was simply a member of the golf club. The genuine trophy will be modeled right after former Nyc University sports player Male impotence Smith inside 1934.

The merit had for ages been presented on the Downtown Fitness Club right up until 2002. The golf club was located nearby the site with the World Business Center towers that have been destroyed inside the attacks regarding 9/11. The golf club was compelled to shut due partly to economic difficulties resulting from 9/11.

Voting Method

The voting method for football’s Heisman Merit is over a regional schedule. The region is separated into 6 independent regions using a noted mass media member in control of each location. This associate then decides a select band of other voters which can be football copy writers, reporters, or perhaps TV individuality to furthermore cast votes.

Dividing the united states up directly into 6 locations helps assure you will have no regional bias for almost any one person. Currently you can find 941 associates who forged votes. The merit is given out in December of each and every year.

Merit Winners

Winners with the Heisman Sports award contain mostly quarterbacks and also running back. In reality, 41 with the 71 Heisman Merit winners are usually running back and 23 are already quarterbacks.

Charles Woodson regarding Michigan continues to be the one and only defensive person to at any time win the particular award. This individual did in which in 1997. Despite the fact that he furthermore returned kickoffs and also punts, this individual was largely a shielding back.

Archie Griffin gets the distinction of being the simply player inside Heisman Merit history to be able to win the particular trophy 2 times. He would so inside 1974 and also 1975 while having fun with Ohio Express.

Two universities are tied with number regarding Heisman Merit winners. Both USC and also Notre Dame experienced 7 earlier Heisman sports trophy invariably winners, although Notre Dame provides only acquired one winner within the last few 40 decades. Ohio State has received 6 Heisman Merit winners.

What Happened To some Past Invariably winners?

While there were many earlier Heisman Merit winners carry on to have got Hall regarding Fame careers inside the NFL, for most others, just the contrary has took place.

Jason White-colored, the 2003 winner hasn’t played any down inside the NFL. Archie Griffin, the sole two-time merit winner acquired a miniscule football job in Cincinnati. Andre Ware, the particular 1989 success, sat around the bench regarding 4 years and retired.

Eric Crouch, the 2001 winner away from Nebraska, hasn’t played a casino game in the particular NFL. Rashaan Salaam had several drug related legal problems and suspensions following his 1994 success as a player. Perhaps one of the most infamous Heisman Merit winner regarding all-time will be O. L. Simpson. After creating a very illustrious career with all the Buffalo Charges, he can be remembered regarding his superstar trial inside the murder regarding his better half and Ronald Goldman.

Sports fans just about everywhere love the particular Heisman sports trophy. Each you’ve got their own view on which the winner needs to be. It has changed into a yearly traditions that maintains on acquiring bigger annually.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here